Beauty: The Oil Cleansing Method

So, you want your skin to look like this ^ ?

“No soap or water on your face?! Ever?!”

The answer is no. No soap, no water, only oil. I started the oil cleansing method a couple of years ago. I had recently moved to LA, and my skin wasn’t adjusting well to the dry, desert heat. I went into Sephora looking for a new moisturizer, and came across Josie Maran’s 100% pure argan oil. I bought the oil, and went home to do some research. I learned that soap is harsh because it strips the skin of its natural oils. The skin then has to work overtime to make up for the lost oils that the soap had stripped away, and ends up producing too much oil. The oil cleansing method is based on the concept of like finding like, or rather, oil finding oil. When you rub the oil into your skin, the new, clean oil enters your pores and pushes the bad old oils out. The old oils are then wiped away, and the new, clean oils are left in their place. I did the oil cleansing method for a couple months before giving soap another try (just to see what would happen). After washing my face with the soap I’d used prior to my switch to oil, I found that my skin was so dry it almost felt sunburned. Needless to say, I never went back to soap. It’s been about two years now, and I can’t imagine going back.

Here’s how it works:

You can use any sort of oil, but I find Jojoba oil to be my favorite. I’ve also tried argan oil, and extra virgin olive oil; both worked well.

Step One: Remove eye makeup using your favorite eye makeup remover.
Step Two: Pour oil into your palm (about the size of a half dollar) and, moving your fingers in small circles, rub the oil into your skin.
Step Three: Soak a clean washcloth with steaming hot water, and wring it out. You’re really only using the water for the heat, so wring it out as best you can. Place the washcloth over your face and let it sit there for a few seconds to open up your pores.
Step Four: Scrub your face with the hot washcloth and pat dry with a clean dry towel.
*Instead of the hot washcloth method, I use a Clarisonic face scrubber. More to come on that later.

It may take a week or so for your skin to fully adjust to the oil cleansing method, but once it starts working, you’ll look rejuvenated, fresh, and glowy. Have any of you out there tried the oil cleansing method? I’d love to hear about it!

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Beauty: The Oil Cleansing Method

  1. […] maintain a very consistent beauty routine (the oil cleansing method, which I wrote about here). But in the days leading up to a flight I take it up a notch. Before bed (and with a clean, […]

Leave a Reply

