Travel: Staying Healthy

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

I don’t know about you, but for me the holidays mean a lot of plane travel. Over the years I’ve learned a thing or two about how to avoid sickness, skin irritation, and overall travel fatigue.

Step One: Supplements

About a week before a flight I power down on what I like to call my “potion”. I take Zinc and Echinacea a couple of times a day with a large glass of water. In addition to the supplements, I drink as much tea as possible. I’m a pretty standard Earl Grey/English Breakfast kind of girl, but sometimes I switch it up for something lovely and floral. No matter the type of tea, I always add a generous dollop of honey (which is not only sweet, but also a highly beneficial antioxidant).

Step Two: Beauty

I maintain a very consistent beauty routine (the oil cleansing method, which I wrote about here). But in the days leading up to a flight I take it up a notch. Before bed (and with a clean, makeup-free face) I’ll apply the Origins Active Charcoal Mask. The charcoal in the mask lifts all of the impurities out of your skin (really, you’ll feel it tingling, it’s fantastic), and leaves your skin feeling deeply cleaned. After rinsing off the mask, I generously apply Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Cream before getting into bed. On the day of the flight, I wear a generous layer of face lotion and minimal makeup. Throughout the flight I’ll spritz my face with C.O. Bigelow’s Vitamin Boost Toner as often as possible. You can spray it on right over your makeup, and it’ll leave your skin feeling refreshed. Wash your face as soon as you’ve arrived at your destination, reapply lotion, and you’ll be good to go!

Do you have any surefire travel wellness techniques? I’d love to hear about them!

Tagged , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Travel: Staying Healthy

  1. cady says:

    Ooo Kels! I might have to pick up some of that toner..

    Emergen-C, Iron supplements, and lots of water are my go-to’s for fighting fatigue and illness. Living Proof’s No Frizz Styling Cream is amazing in general, but it REALLY comes in handy when you’re traveling. It doesn’t contain any oil, so it holds your style AND keeps your hair looking (so) fresh and (so) clean (clean). Well worth a try.

    http://www.sephora.com/nourishing-styling-cream-P375666

  2. cady says:

    Anecdotally: Living Proof actually patented their own molecule developed by some scientists at MIT that repels dirt/frizz… which is why this stuff is so fab. You can thank my old hairdresser for that fun little tidbit.

  3. juliecrombe says:

    This post was really useful! I travel a lot by plane and never thought about bringing these kind of things! What I do take are ear drops and a nose spray as my ears are always popping during take off and landing!
    Please check out my blog and let’s follow each other!
    http://www.juliecrombe.com

    • Wallace says:

      Thanks, Julie! I couldn’t agree more about the nose spray. I’m convinced that airplanes have some secret device built in that completely eliminates all moisture in your body. I always deplane feeling like I’ve just spent 3 hours wandering the Sahara. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

