Lessons Learned from My Wedding

On our wedding day, our wedding planner (the goddess Paige of Bash, Please) told a very anxious about-to-walk-down-the-aisle me to “just do what feels natural.” She told me to go with the flow, to be myself, and most importantly, to relax. So when my heels started sinking into the grass, I ditched my shoes. And by “ditched my shoes” I mean I literally took them off just before I was going to say my vows. In front of everyone. Because it felt like the right thing to do. I knew that if I didn’t take them off I’d be focused on my shoes and not on my vows. And you know what? It was totally fine. It got a few chuckles from the front row, and I read my vows with sincerity and focus.

Kelsie + Benjy-3 2Kelsie + Benjy-15 2

Focus on the big things first. When we got engaged, we dove right into the planning process. As much as I wanted to focus on the details (like the papergoods, decor, etc.) I knew I’d be better off going from macro first to micro later. Almost immediately we booked our wedding planners (Bash, Please), our venue (The Ojai Valley Inn), and bought the dress (from Monique Lhullier). Once the big things were done, I was able to focus on the smaller things, and even more importantly, I was able to envision how each detail would fit into the larger picture.

Kelsie + Benjy-89 Kelsie + Benjy-138 Kelsie + Benjy-152 Kelsie + Benjy-251

Our wedding party was a collection of our oldest, nearest, and dearest friends. I chose my bridesmaids based on who I thought would be in my life forever. I took it very seriously, and felt honored and blessed to have such wonderful people standing up there with us as we said our vows.

Kelsie + Benjy-282 Kelsie + Benjy-527 Kelsie + Benjy-399 Kelsie + Benjy-407

Don’t sweat the small stuff. Things will go wrong. I took off my shoes, my bustle ripped on the dance floor, the band mixed up the mother/son & father/daughter dance songs. But those moments add character. The mix-ups remind us that this is real life, this is happening. Don’t sweat it, because at a wedding full of love and happiness, nobody really notices the bumpy bits anyway.

Kelsie + Benjy-499 Kelsie + Benjy-422 Kelsie + Benjy-523Kelsie + Benjy-563Kelsie + Benjy-520Kelsie + Benjy-602Kelsie + Benjy-747 Kelsie + Benjy-744
Party like it’s 1999. My wedding was, without a doubt, the most fun night of my entire life. I felt so loved, so honored, so full-to-the-brim. I wouldn’t have had it any other way.

Photography: Paige Jones Dress: Monique Lhullier Venue: Ojai Valley Inn Wedding Planning: Bash, Please Florals: Twig + Twine Papergoods: Page Stationery

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

